Disaster Areas
Flooding in North Dakota
Severe Weather in New York



Lenders and Schools
July 24, 1998
Disaster Areas - Flooding in North Dakota and Severe Weather in New York   -  Additional counties listed in italic

To assure that your Common Manual remains current, please record this document on your LPM/LPB index, and retain it in Appendix E of your manual.

Catteraugua, Clinton, Erie, Essex, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, and Wyoming counties in New York have been designated to be disaster areas because of severe storms and flooding that began June 25, 1998.

Additionally, Barnes, Benson, Dickey, Nelson, Pambina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Roletta, Sargent, Stutsman, and Towner counties and the Indian reservations of the Spirit Lake Sioux Tribe and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa in North Dakota have been declared to be disaster areas due to flooding that began March 2, 1998 (on July 21, a major disaster declaration that had been issued June 15, 1998 was expanded to cover individual assistance).


Disaster-related Forbearance Policy

1. Loan holders are strongly recommended to grant forbearances to borrowers who contact them and indicate that they have been adversely affected by the disaster and need temporary relief from their loan obligations. If the holder believes that the borrower has been harmed and needs assistance, the holder may grant a forbearance for up to 3 months after the disaster strikes, based on either the borrower's oral or written request for assistance, which must be documented in the holder's files.

2. The holder does not need to obtain supporting documentation or a signed written agreement from the borrower to justify a forbearance for this initial 3-month period. The Secretary will decline to enforce the requirements of 34 CFR 682.211(c) for this period.

3. A continuation of the forbearance past this 3-month period will require supporting documentation and a written agreement from the borrower.

We will notify you if additional areas are designated. Questions and concerns may be addressed to the Department’s toll-free number at 1-800-433-7327, Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST.


Home Page Policy and Procedure Menu
Information Center Menu LPM/LPB Index