Disaster Areas
Flooding and Tornadoes in North Carolina
Tornadoes in Georgia



Lenders and Schools
March 30, 1998
Disaster Areas - Flooding and Tornadoes in North Carolina
                          - Tornadoes in Georgia


To assure that your Common Manual remains current, please record this document on your LPM/LPB index, and retain it in Appendix E of your manual.


Robeson county in North Carolina has been declared a disaster area because of flooding that began on January 7, 1998. Rockingham county in North Carolina also has been declared to be a disaster area because of tornadoes that struck on March 20 and 21, 1998.

In addition, Dawson, Habersham, Hall, Rebun, and White counties in Georgia have been declared to be disaster areas because of tornadoes that struck there on March 20, 1998.

Disaster-related Forbearance Policy

1. Loan holders are strongly recommended to grant forbearances to borrowers who contact them and indicate that they have been adversely affected by the disaster and need temporary relief from their loan obligations. If the holder believes that the borrower has been harmed and needs assistance, the holder may grant a forbearance for up to 3 months after the disaster strikes, based on either the borrower's oral or written request for assistance, which must be documented in the holder's files.

2. The holder does not need to obtain supporting documentation or a signed written agreement from the borrower to justify a forbearance for this initial 3-month period. The Secretary will decline to enforce the requirements of 34 CFR 682.211(c) for this period.

3. A continuation of the forbearance past this 3-month period will require supporting documentation and a written agreement from the borrower.

We will notify you if additional areas are designated. Questions and concerns may be addressed to the Department’s toll-free number at 1-800-433-7327, Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST.


Home Page Policy and Procedure Menu
Information Center Menu LPM/LPB Index