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COMMISSION
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DATE ISSUED: Aug. 28,2007
EFFECTIVE DATE: As Indicated
DISTRIBUTION: College, University and LAICU Chancellors, Financial Aid Offices, Business

Offices, Registrars and Auditors; Louisiana Legislators, Officials and the
Congressional Delegation; Higher Education Board; Libraries; Commission
Members; Technical College Campus Deans and Student Personnel Services

Officers
PROGRAM: Louisiana Go Grant
TOPICS: Emergency Rules

The Executive Committee of the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission approved an
Emergency Rule and Notice of Intent at its meeting held on July 19, 2007 that adds Chapter 12 to the
Scholarship/Grant Program Rules to implement the Louisiana GO Grant Program. This program adds a
need based student financial aid component to the state’s financial aid plan that supports nontraditional
and low income students. This chapter sets the initial and continuing eligibility requirements, the roles
and responsibilities of the participants, and general guidelines for the program.

To be eligible for a Louisiana Go Grant, a student must:

Be a Louisiana Resident;

File a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA);

Receive a federal Pell grant or a financial need grant (defined in rule);

Have an Education Cost Gap (ECG) greater than $0 calculated by adding a student’s tuition and

mandatory fees at a school (as approved by Board of Regents and posted annually on LOFSA’s

website) with a $2,000 education allowance and subtracting the Pell or financial need grant

amount for a full-time student;

e Not have a criminal conviction, except for misdemeanor traffic violations; and

e Be a student enrolled in an eligible postsecondary school on a part-time or full-time basis who:

0 entered college as a first time freshman during academic year 2007-2008 or later; OR

O is age 24 or younger who entered college as a first time freshman during academic year
2007-2008 or later; OR

O is age 25 or older and who has had a break in enrollment of at least two consecutive
semesters, not including a summer semester or term, immediately preceding the period of
enrollment for which the student is being considered for receipt of a grant.
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Note: For students attending an eligible college or university that is a member of LAICU, the ECG is
calculated using the average tuition and mandatory fees for full-time students at the state’s four-year
public postsecondary institutions plus the $2,000 education allowance. The current year tuition and fees
table for the Go Grant Program can be found on LOSFA’s website at www.osfa.state.la.us.

To receive a grant in subsequent years, the student must file a FAFSA or the Renewal Application
annually, continue receiving a Pell or a financial need grant, have an ECG greater than $0, and maintain
steady academic progress as defined by the institution enrolled in accordance with the federal Higher
Education Act of 1965. The maximum annual award is $2,000 and the award can be renewed for
subsequent years to a maximum lifetime award of $10,000 per student.

In order to receive a grant, an eligible student must be enrolled in an undergraduate program at an eligible
postsecondary institution through the 14™ class day (9" class day at quarter and term schools). If a student
adds classes after the 14™ (9th) class day and becomes full-time, a second billing request cycle will be
accepted from the schools to process additional payments for students. In situations where a retroactive
action changes the enrollment status of a student from full-time to part-time as of the 14" (9th) class day, it
will be the responsibility of the school to apply credit for Go Funds paid in accordance with their existing
policy to ensure that excess funds are available to the student to cover additional costs of attendance.

For additional information, please contact one of our Public Information Officers by calling 225-922-
1012 or toll-free by dialing 1-800-259-LOAN (5626), Extension 1012.

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Student Financial Assistance Commission
Office of Student Financial Assistance
Scholarship/Grant Programs

(LAC 28:1V.Chapter 12)

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission (LASFAC) is exercising the emergency
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend and re-promulgate the rules of
the Scholarship/Grant programs (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, and R.S. 17:3042.1.1-3042.8,
R.S. 17:3048.1, R.S. 56:797.D(2)).

The emergency rules are necessary to implement changes to the Scholarship/Grant programs to allow
the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational institutions to effectively
administer these programs. A delay in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the financial
welfare of the eligible students and the financial condition of their families. LASFAC has determined that
these emergency rules are necessary in order to prevent imminent financial peril to the welfare of the
affected students.

This rulemaking will add Chapter 12 to LASFAC’s Scholarship/Grants rules to implement the
Louisiana GO Grant Program. The Program will provide $15 million in need-based aid to Louisiana
students in state fiscal year 2007-2008. The Program was reviewed and approved by both the Senate
Committee on Education and the House Committee on Education on April 12, 2007, and $15 million has
been included in the agency’s budget for the 2007-2008 state fiscal year.

This declaration of emergency is effective July 19, 2007, and shall remain in effect for the maximum
period allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act. (SGO889E)
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Title 28
EDUCATION
Part IVV. Student Financial Assistance- Higher
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs

Chapter 12. Louisiana GO Grant

§1201. General Provisions
A. Authority.

1. In accordance with the requirements of Act 695 of
the 2004 Regular Session of the Legislature, the Board of
Regents developed the GO Grant Program. The program
was reviewed and approved by both the Senate Committee
on Education and the House Committee on Education on
April 12, 2007.

2. The Louisiana GO Grant Program is administered
by the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance in
accordance with the approved program and a
Memorandum of Understanding by and between the
Louisiana Board of Regents and the Louisiana Student
Financial Assistance Commission.

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Louisiana
GO Grant assists those students who can demonstrate
financial need to pay for the cost of postsecondary
education. The GO Grant is used to pay a portion of the
cost of attendance at an eligible Louisiana postsecondary
institution.

C. Maximum Award Amount.

1. The maximum annual award for any student is
$2,000 per academic year.

2. The annual award amount for students who enroll
less than full time shall be reduced based on the maximum
amount the postsecondary institution is authorized to
submit a payment request in §1211.C.2.

3. The maximum total lifetime award amount for
any student is $10,000.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3129.7.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR

81203. Definitions. The following definitions shall be
applicable to the Louisiana GO Grant
Program.

Words and terms not otherwise defined in this Chapter
shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and terms
in this Section. Where the masculine is used in these rules,
it includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the singular
is used, it includes the plural, and vice versa.

Academic Year—The academic year begins with the fall
semester or term of the award year, includes the winter

term, if applicable, and concludes with the completion of
the spring semester or term of the award year. Summer
terms may be included in the academic year if the post-
secondary institution provides students with Pell grants or
financial need grants during the summer session, in which
case, the academic year culminates with the summer
session.

Administering ~ Agency—The  Louisiana  Student
Financial Assistance Commission through the Louisiana
Office of Student Financial Assistance or LOSFA.

Age—A student’s age is calculated by subtracting his
birth year from the academic begin year he begins college
enrollment. For example, a student who is born in 1983
who enrolls in college during the fall semester of 2007 or
the spring semester of 2008 is 24.

Cost of Attendance—The total cost for a student to
attend a particular postsecondary institution, usually
expressed as an academic year figure. This cost shall be
determined by the postsecondary institution attended in
compliance with Title IV of the Higher Education Act of
1965, as amended, and shall be annually updated and
adopted by the institution.

Credit-bearing ~ Course—A  course in  which
postsecondary education credit is attempted.

Dependent Student—A student who does not qualify as
an independent student and is deemed to be dependent on
his parents for support and therefore is required to include
parental information on the Free Application for Federal
Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal FAFSA.

Education Allowance—$2,000 per academic year.
Education Cost Gap (ECG)—

a. For postsecondary institutions, except a
Louisiana public college that has been granted regional
Candidacy Status and is eligible to participate in the Go
Grant Program, the Louisiana Basic College Costs (LBCC)
minus the federal Pell grant amount for a full time student.

b. For a Louisiana public college that has been
granted regional Candidacy Status and is eligible to
participate in the Go Grant Program, the Louisiana Basic
College Costs (LBCC) minus the financial need grant
amount at that institution for a full time student.

Enrollment—Registration in programs of study for
which a student may receive a Pell grant or a financial
need grant at a postsecondary institution.

Federal Pell Grant—The Pell Grant provided under
Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended.
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Financial Need Grant—An institutional grant provided
by the state for students with financial need as evidenced
by the data reported on the FAFSA at a Louisiana public
college that has been granted regional Candidacy Status
and is eligible to participate in the Go Grant Program.

First-time Freshman—A student who, after high school
graduation, has never attended any college or other
postsecondary institution, including students enrolled in
the fall term who attended college for the first time in the
prior summer term after high school graduation and
students who entered with advanced standing (college
credits earned before graduation from high school).

Full Time—A student enrolled in a postsecondary
institution who is considered program full time by the
school, or is enrolled in at least 12 semester credit hours,
or 8 hours at a term school.

Go Grant Award Amount—The award amount actually
paid during an academic year.

Half Time — A student enrolled in a postsecondary
institution who is not full time but is enrolled in at least 6
semester credit hours, or 4 hours at a term school.

Independent Student—A student who meets at least one
of the criteria listed in Subparagraphs a-f or has been
determined independent by a financial aid officer
exercising professional judgment in accordance with
applicable provisions of the Higher Education Act of 1965,
as amended:

a. reached 24 years of age prior to January of the
year preceding the academic year for which the student is
applying for aid;

b. s currently serving on active duty for purposes
other than training or is a veteran of the U.S. Armed
Forces, including a student who was activated to serve in
Operation Desert Storm;

c. is an orphan or a ward of the court or was a
ward of the court until age 18;

d. has legal dependents other than a spouse;
e. is a graduate or professional student;
f. is married.

Less Than Half Time — A student enrolled in a
postsecondary institution who is not full time and is
enrolled in less than 6 semester credit hours or 4 hours at a
term school.

Louisiana Basic College Costs (LBCC)—

a. For students enrolled at Louisiana public
postsecondary institutions, the tuition and mandatory fees
that are assessed a full time student for enrollment during
the academic year at that institution, not including summer
semesters or sessions, as approved on a yearly basis by the
Louisiana Board of Regents, plus the education allowance.
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b. For students enrolled at regionally accredited
independent colleges or universities in the state that are
members of the Louisiana Association of Independent
Colleges and Universities, the average tuition and
mandatory fees for full time students at the four year
public postsecondary institutions, plus the education
allowance.

Louisiana resident—

a. A dependent or independent student whose
true, fixed, and permanent home of residence is Louisiana
as reported on the Free Application for Federal Student Aid
(FAFSA).

b. A dependent student whose non-custodial
parent completes a residency affidavit in subparagraph e
below that establishes Louisiana residency.

c. Adependent student whose parent is transferred
out of Louisiana temporarily by his/her employer and that
parent completes a residency affidavit in subparagraph e
below that establishes Louisiana residency.

d. A dependent student whose parent is on active
duty in the Armed Forces and who is stationed in
Louisiana under permanent change of station orders, or an
independent student who is on active duty military status
in the Armed Forces and is stationed in Louisiana under
permanent change of station orders.

e. If the dependent or independent student does
not report Louisiana as his true, fixed, and permanent
home of residence as Louisiana on the FAFSA, the
administering agency may require an independent student
applicant or the parent of a dependent student applicant to
show proof of residency. Residency may be established by
completion of a standard affidavit developed by the
administering agency. Such affidavits must be completed
in their entirety by the independent student applicant or by
at least one parent of the dependent student applicant and
be sworn to and notarized by a licensed notary public.
Further, the affiant shall be required to submit records in
support of the affidavit to include the following records
and such other records as may be required by the
administering agency:

i. if registered to vote, a Louisiana voter
registration card; and

1. if licensed to drive a motor vehicle, a
Louisiana driver's license; and

iii. if owning a motor vehicle located in
Louisiana, a Louisiana registration for that vehicle; and

iv.  if earning a reportable income, a Louisiana
tax return.

Over Award—an over award occurs when a student
receives financial aid in excess of the cost of attendance or
an award under state programs to which the student was
not entitled.
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Postsecondary Institution—Louisiana public colleges or
universities and regionally accredited independent colleges
or universities in the state that are members of the
Louisiana Association of Independent Colleges and
Universities and a Louisiana public college that has been
granted regional Candidacy Status, but is not yet eligible to
participate in Title IV programs, may award students a Go
Grant. Candidacy Status institutions must require students
to complete a FAFSA and the institution must determine a
student's eligibility in accordance with rules under this
chapter.

Program Full Time —A student is enrolled in a degree
program at a postsecondary institution that the institution
defines full-time as less than 12 hours per semester or
eight hours per term.

Satisfactory Academic Progress—A standard established
in accordance with the Higher Education Act of 1965, as
amended, by the institution at which a GO Grant recipient
is enrolled for measuring a student’s progress in his or her
educational program.

Undergraduate Program—A program of study that is
designed to lead to a certificate or undergraduate degree.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3129.7.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR

81205. Application and Initial Eligibility.

A. Application. A student must complete the Free
Application for Federal Student Aid for the year during
which he intends to enroll in college.

B. Initial Eligibility. In order to be eligible for a
Louisiana GO Grant, a student must:

1. Be a Louisiana Resident; and

2. Receive a federal Pell grant or a financial need
grant; and

3. Have an Education Cost Gap (ECG) greater than
$0; and

4. a. Be a student who entered college as a first
time freshman during academic year 2007-2008 or later;
OR

b. Be a student who is age 24 or younger who
entered college as a first time freshman during academic
year 2007-2008 or later; OR

c. Be a student who is age 25 or older and who
has had a break in enrollment of at least two consecutive
semesters, not including a summer semester or term,
immediately preceding the period of enrollment for which
the student is being considered for receipt of a grant under
this Chapter.
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5. Not have a criminal conviction, except for
misdemeanor traffic violations.

C. In order to receive a grant under this Chapter, an
eligible student must be enrolled in an undergraduate
program at a postsecondary institution through the 14"
class day (9™ class day at quarter and term schools).

§1207. Continuing Eligibility.

A. Application. A student must complete the Free
Application for Federal Student Aid or the Renewal
Application for each year he enrolls in college to be
considered for a Pell grant and the Go Grant.

B. A student’s eligibility will be reevaluated on the
same schedule as eligibility for a federal Pell grant or a
financial need grant is determined at the institution, but at
least once annually.

1. The student must continue to receive the
Federal Pell grant or a financial need grant.

2. The student must still have an education cost
gap greater than $0 as determined using the ECG formula.

3. The student must have maintained satisfactory
academic progress as defined by the institution in which he
is enrolled in accordance with the Higher Education Act of
1965.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3129.7.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR

81209. Eligibility of Postsecondary Institutions
A. Postsecondary Institutions Eligible to Participate

1. Postsecondary
undergraduate programs.

institutions that  provide

2. Regionally accredited private colleges and
universities that are members of the Louisiana Association
of Independent Colleges and Universities, Inc. (LAICU).
As of July 2007, LAICU membership included Centenary
College, Dillard University, Louisiana College, Loyola
University, New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary,
Our Lady of the Lake College, Our Lady of Holy Cross
College, St. Joseph Seminary College, Tulane Medical
Center, Tulane University and Xavier University.

B. Audits

Postsecondary institutions that participate in the
Louisiana GO Grant program grant LOSFA and the
Louisiana legislative auditor the right to inspect records
and perform on-site audits of each institution's
administration of the program for the purpose of
determining the institution's compliance with state law and
applicable rules and regulations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3129.7.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR

81211. Responsibilities of Postsecondary Institutions
A. Initial Eligibility.

1. a. Postsecondary institutions must determine
whether the student meets the criterion in subparagraph a
of the definition of Louisiana resident in §1203.

b. If this criterion is not met, the student may
request that LOSFA make a determination of residency
under subparagraph e of the definition of Louisiana
resident in §1203

2. Postsecondary institutions must determine
whether a student meets the initial eligibility criteria
enumerated in §1205.B.2-4.

B. Continuing Eligibility

Postsecondary institutions must determine whether a
student meets the continuing eligibility criteria enumerated
in §1207 on the same schedule as eligibility for a Pell grant
or a financial need grant is determined at the institution,
but at least once annually.

C. Submission of Payment Requests.

Each semester or term, postsecondary institutions shall
submit a payment request to LOSFA for students enrolled
at the institution who have been determined eligible for a
Louisiana GO Grant as follows:

1. For each student eligible for a Louisiana GO
Grant who is enrolled at the end of the 14th class day for
semester schools, or the 9th class day for quarter and term
schools, or for any qualifying summer sessions, at the end
of the last day to drop and receive a full refund for the full
summer session.

2. Payment Request Amount.

a.  $1,000 per semester for a student enrolled full
time after the 14" class day in a postsecondary institution
that operates on a semester basis or $667 ($666 for the
final term of the award year) per term for a student
enrolled full time after the 9™ class day in a postsecondary
institution that operates on a term basis;

b. $500 per semester for a student enrolled half
time after the 14" class day in a postsecondary institution
that operates on a semester basis or $333 ($334 for the
final term) per term for a student enrolled half time after
the 9™ class day in a postsecondary institution that operates
on a term basis;

c. $250 per semester for a student enrolled less
than half time after the 14™ class day in a postsecondary
institution that operates on a semester basis or $167 (or
$166 for the final term) per term for a student enrolled half
time after the 9™ class day in a postsecondary institution
that operates on a term basis.
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d. For summer sessions, the difference between
what the student was paid during the preceding fall
semester or term, winter term, if applicable, and spring
semester or term and the student’s maximum annual award
amount; provided the award for the summer session shall
not exceed $1,000.

3. The payment request shall include the social
security number, college code, term, date, hours attempted,
award amount, education cost gap and amount requested
for each student.

4. For students who are enrolled in more than one
postsecondary institution, the home school (school paying
the Pell grant or a financial need grant) is responsible for
submitting a payment request for the Go Grant based on
the total hours enrolled at all institutions.

D. Over Payments

1. No institution shall submit a payment request for
GO Grant funds which would result in a student receiving
an annual total of more than is authorized in §1201.C.

2. Postsecondary Institutions certify by submitting a
payment request for a GO Grant that the institution will
reimburse LOSFA for any award funds that are disbursed
to ineligible students, in excess of the maximum annual
award or in excess of the maximum lifetime award.

E. Over Award

In the event the student's total aid, including vocational
rehabilitation awards, exceeds the cost of attendance, any
federal loan aid included in the total aid package shall be
reduced, then institutional and other aid in accordance with
institutional practice, then the Louisiana GO Grant, then a
TOPS Award, if applicable, shall be reduced by the amount
of any remaining over award.

F. Records Retention.

Records pertaining to the payment requests for
Louisiana GO Grants are subject to audit as required by
LASFAC, the Louisiana Board of Regents, and the
Louisiana Legislative Auditor. Postsecondary institutions
shall maintain all records for a minimum of three years
from creation. All such records shall be made available
upon request by LASFAC, the Louisiana Board of Regents
and/or the Louisiana Legislative Auditor.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3129.7.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR

§1213. Responsibilities of LOSFA

A. LOSFA shall pay each postsecondary institution an
amount equal to that amount in a payment request by the
postsecondary institution in accordance with the provisions
of §1211.C.

P. O. Box 91202, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9202
(225) 922-1012



Student Financial Aid Bulletin 8

B. LOSFA shall determine the residency of students
who do not meet the criteria enumerated in Subparagraph a
of the definition of Louisiana Resident in §1203 and notify
postsecondary institutions of its determination(s).

C. LOSFA shall maintain a database of all students
who have received the GO Grant, including social security
number, college code, term, date, hours attempted, award
amount, education cost gap amount, annual amount
received, and aggregate amount received. In the event
LOSFA receives a payment request for a student in an
amount that would exceed the student’s eligibility, LOSFA
will pay only that amount that will not exceed the student’s
eligibility.

D. Adequacy of Funding

1. After the receipt of fall semester or term payment
requests, but no later than October 15 of each year, LOSFA
shall determine whether sufficient funds are available to
pay all anticipated awards for subsequent semesters, terms
and sessions of the academic year.

2. In the event projections indicate sufficient funds
are not available, LOSFA shall notify the Board of
Regents.

3. In the event additional funds are not allocated for
payment of all anticipated awards for subsequent
semesters, terms and sessions during the academic year,
the Board of Regents shall develop, approve and deliver a
plan to LOSFA to address the shortfall.

E. LOSFA shall audit postsecondary institutions to
ensure compliance with these rules.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3129.7.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR

§1215. Responsibilities of LASFAC

LASFAC shall promulgate administrative rules in
accordance with the Louisiana Administrative Procedure
Act, in consultation with the Louisiana Board of Regents
and in accordance with a Memorandum of Understanding
entered into by and between LASFAC and the Louisiana
Board of Regents.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3129.7.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR

George Badge Eldredge
General Counsel
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